Android 11's auto-reset permissions feature is coming to older versions of the OS

When Google launched Android 11 at the end of last summer, it added a feature that automatically resets app permissions. If you don’t use an app after several months, the OS can revoke some of the permissions that the application asked you to grant when you first installed it. It’s a handy feature that’s unfortunately only available on a relatively small number of devices due to the fact most Android manufacturers only support their devices with platform updates for a couple of years. Thankfully, that’s about to change.

Starting in December 2021, Google will begin rolling out that functionality to all devices running Android 6 (Marshmallow) and above, the

→ Continue reading at Engadget

Similar Articles

Advertisment

Most Popular

Leslie Bricusse, ‘Willy Wonka,’ ‘Goldfinger’ Songwriter, Dies at 90

Leslie Bricusse, Oscar- and Grammy-winning songwriter whose songs for Broadway and Hollywood include “What Kind of Fool Am I?” and “Pure Imagination,” died Tuesday...

In the N.F.L., the Rebuilding Never Ends

The process then moves swiftly through preparation, false hope and recrimination.On the surface, rebuilding sounds like a straightforward strategy for a down-and-out N.F.L. franchise:...

‘Warning’ Review: Glimpses From a Near-Future of Technological Overkill

Offering a different kind of near-future dystopia, “Warning” lets the clock run out on humanity’s stint in the background, while in the foreground we...